Avalanche Stops Play

The last couple of days really have been stunning so let me tell you about them…

Jasper to Beauty Creek (04/05/2017)

Lets start with some numbers…:

Distance: 89.3km

Accent: 1206m

Highest point: 1610m above see level

But that’s only of interest if you are a numbers geek… Where I think you are reading this for the story so here we go…

I had been advised by one of the guys in a local bike shop to take Route 93A (the old road) rather than the 93 as it was for nicer. What he failed to mention was that it’s a lot higher and steeper that the 93, but the views were amazing and the road is quiet. As you follow the road you get stunning views of high lakes, often frozen still, and even higher mountains giving some purely breath-taking views, I can probably count on one had the amount of times in my life that a view has made me exclaim out loud, I have now probably added another 1/2 dozen to the list! The first is where the 93A crosses Whirlpool River and the view of a mountain (name unknown to me). I had to slam on the breaks and stop to ogle at the view for a while.

20170504_102633.jpg

Whirlpool River

From here I descended slightly to where I was to re-join the 93 heading south, at the junction of the road is Athabasca Falls, another rather pretty place. At the falls I ended up chatting to a few brits who had previously cycled the Grand Divide and where interested in what I was doing, it seems everyone wants to talk to the crazy person cycling in the snow in shorts!

20170504_112900

Athabasca Falls

As the miles ticked slowly by I was surrounded by even bigger mountains and the colour of the river slowly became more and more glacial blue and I was getting tired so took every opportunity to stop and look at the sights, in fact I have taken too many pictures to show you them all!

20170504_121130.jpg

Ooooo pretty!

Even the view of the tarmac wasn’t too bad with the towering peaks in the distance, you have to remember at this point I was already about 1200-1400m above see level so these things must be 3-4000m.

Canada-400

Tarmac….

I stayed at one of the Hostels International Wilderness Hostels, there is no electricity and no running water, there wasn’t even supposed to be a caretaker at this time of year but Jennie had turned up a few day earlier than need to have a spring clean. Later on a younger group turned up and a fun night was had by all.

20170504_174624.jpg

The hostel

Beauty Creek to Columbia Icefield (05/05/2017)

Today has been the first proper day that I have any real problems with mother nature, it all started of fine as I left the hostel and headed up the tough climb that I knew was coming to what is possibly the highest point of my trip at 1938m and the Icefields observatory, the climb was tough, but not as bad as that to Duffy Lake, and I ended up walking the last 1/2 mile or so. I payed the extortionate fee to access the glass floored viewing platform and I am glade that I did, the views all around were stunning.

GOPR0482.JPG

Selfie and views of the Icefield

Whilst there the staff (people again talking to the nutter in shorts!) informed me that there had been an avalanche between there and Lake Louise, my next stop, and it had been a big one. They showed me a group of Facebook posts with pictures showing the road had been blocked by 20ft deep snow and that this covered approximately 100m of the road… there was no way I was getting through there today, possibly not tomorrow. I had no real option but to continue on to the Icefield Discovery Centre, it was the only place to stay before the avalanche, but it wasn’t going to be cheap.

So I continued on into the icefields (still in shorts….) and was rewarded with one of the most spectacular views I think I have ever seen. I had some lunch and checked in to the hotel after checking the state of the road (no updates). After settling in I went for a wander up towards the glacier but the trail is too much, (wet and snowy) for the gear I have, so I went to walk up the road and the weather drew in, so I returned to the hotel and am sat in the café updating you and looking over the amazing vista.

Canada-401

Athabasca Glacier

If I am still stranded tomorrow hopefully I should get up to the glacier.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

