Ups and downs 

So I ended up staying two nights in Squamish spending my rest day exploring the town and doing some tweaking of the gears so I have the full range back. As I said before the town is based on the logging industry with the feel that such places have, I quite like it! As with most the places I have been on the trip so far the town embraces it’s First Nation heritage with displays and information on aspects of there culture and local history.

The Chief from Squamish

At the end of the day I ended up in one of the local breweries with another couple of peeps staying at the Adventure Inn where they treated me to a pint to wish me well on my travels, cheers guys!

Squamish to Whistler  (15/07/2017)

This section of the route I tried to avoid the main road and took my pal Jack’s advice to follow the Sea to Sky Trail. This starts of by following local roads through Brackendale then following Paradise Valley Road. This is a beautiful tree lined road that seems to go on for mile after mile before gradually turning into a gravel track, thankfully my bike had been designed to be more robust than a road bike so coped with this without a problem.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0041.JPG
Peace Valley Road

As I continued down the track it gradually got more rutted and pot-holed until it eventually intersected with Cheakamus River were it became unridable on anything other than a full suspension bike! The next few hours consisted of me pushing the bike over rock fields, up 1 in 3 loose gravel hills that just made my wheels spin if I tried to ride and at one point even have to take my panniers off so that I could lift the bike over two foot high boulders. If you bear in mind my bike weighs approximately 32kg when fully loaded I am pushing approximately half my own body weight up a loose hill!

GOPR0049.JPG

Before the going got tough!

GOPR0057.JPG

The going got tough

To add to the issues while I was unloading the bike one of the clips on the rear pannier snapped! This meant taking time to make make-shift repairs followed by more pushing! Eventually I got back to the main road where I could nearly have missed the asphalt, I could ride again! Having had enough of rough trails and the time that was lost due to miles of pushing I decided to just munch out the miles on the road.

GOPR0055.JPG

Some of the views were worth the effort though!

I was tired by the point of joining the road and the going was all up hill. I had also not been fuelling well so I was struggling up every hill and I still had miles to go but I got there in the end having travelled 59km in just over 5hrs.

I was staying at a hotel in town and treated myself to a bath followed by one of the best meals I have had at the Bearfoot Bistro  (a tad pricey that one!) After dinner I rested up for an hour before heading over and meeting up with Jack and Alex for a few drinks at there amazing place in Whistler.

Whistler (16/07/2017)

I was considering skiing but with the panniers issue I thought I should look at repairs and options for that. It looks like the clip is easily replaced but unfortunately none of the bike shops in Whistler are set up for road or touring bikes and I will just have to make do with cable ties for the moment. By the time I had done this it was too late for skiing so I had a wander around town seeing the sights, had lunch and a beer at Earls Kitchen and Bar followed by a walk down to the still thickly frozen lake. From what I could see from the shore it was likely to still be able to hold a person’s weight… but I didn’t test that!

Whistler-1.jpg

Alta Lake, Whistler

Supported by 10401067_29999502286_5190_n

Leave a Reply

